These women

December 17, 2012

After a brief meltdown
when I saw the NYT at Starbucks,
I got all misty again with gratitude tonight
because– just–
these women. –I love
the women I work with so much.
I said as much to the girl
as she tried to fall asleep,
about how lucky I am to love my job.
She sighed deeply.
I don’t have a job.
Your job is to be a kid,
I returned, in total mom cliche patter.
Well I hate my job,
she replied.
I finally paid attention.
What do you think your real job is?
I asked slowly.
She rolled over instantly and popped her head up.
To love.
All people’s real jobs is just to love,

she said matter-of-factly.
And I remembered again
why she is my great teacher.
And I give thanks
because she is here beside me.

20121216-092618.jpg

One Response to “These women”

  1. Janet said

    Wow, she must have a great teacher, to know this at six! Well done, mama.

Leave a Reply

