That’s the holiday spirit

December 25, 2012

It was an awful Christmas Eve.

Overflowing toilet.
Shattered snowglobe.
Jabs.

But the plumber came,
messes were mopped,
civility restored.
Friends saved the day with
paella and a party and kitchen cackling.

I hung in there until
I was filling stockings tonight and realized
the Dr. Haushka face cream–
a lone but luscious filler for my
own stocking–
turned out to be a box of beans.
Literally, I had bought an empty box filled with
dried beans.

Reader, I cried.
I know some day it’ll be funny.
I keep trying for it to be hilarious
tonight and I am just too human to get there.

But fuck it, we are going to have
a good Christmas anyway
damn it all to hell
jingle bell
if it kills me.

20121224-101815.jpg

Leave a Reply

