Self-care usually isn’t glamorous

January 17, 2013

To gymnastics class
I went, armed with stacks of
Very Edifying Reading Material.
Scads of email attacked my phone.
Other parents chatted with each other
as though
they actually like other humans.
Industrious people knit gourmet things
while others recycled the air with
the sheer fervor of their woolly mittens.
But a great exhaustion came over me.
I couldn’t do anything virtuous today.
So I plugged in, tuned out,
closed my eyes rather sheepishly,
and gave myself a solitary aural bath
instead.
We will probably eat fast food for dinner.
But our potent energies will be
replenished.

20130116-160052.jpg

Leave a Reply

